Browse code

core: contribuitions guidelines updated with reporting issues section

Daniel-Constantin Mierla authored on 12/05/2016 13:02:58
Showing 1 changed files
... ...
@@ -12,10 +12,12 @@ changes to this document in a pull request.
12 12
 ### Table Of Contents ###
13 13
 
14 14
   * [Overview](#overview)
15
-  * [Basic Rules](#basic-rules)
16
-  * [Commit Message Format](#commit-message-format)
17
-    * [Examples Of Commit Messages](#examples-of-commit-messages)
18
-    * [See Also](#see-also)
15
+  * [Contributing Code Or Content](#contributing-code-or-content)
16
+    * [Basic Rules](#basic-rules)
17
+    * [Commit Message Format](#commit-message-format)
18
+      * [Examples Of Commit Messages](#examples-of-commit-messages)
19
+      * [See Also](#see-also)
20
+  * [Reporting Issues](#reporting-issues)
19 21
   * [License](#license)
20 22
     * [License Of New Code Contributions](#license-of-new-code-contributions)
21 23
   * [Further Assistance](#further-assistance)
... ...
@@ -28,7 +30,8 @@ contribution to code or documentation is very welcome and appreciated.
28 30
 In order to be easily able to track the changes and have a coherent ChangLog
29 31
 and commit history, there are several *rules* required for each contribution.
30 32
 
31
-## Basic Rules ##
33
+## Contributing Code Or Content ##
34
+### Basic Rules ###
32 35
 
33 36
   * github pull requests are the favourited mechanism to submit contributions
34 37
   (patches)
... ...
@@ -72,7 +75,7 @@ and commit history, there are several *rules* required for each contribution.
72 75
     regenerated in the corresponding branch.
73 76
 
74 77
 
75
-## Commit Message Format ##
78
+### Commit Message Format ###
76 79
 
77 80
 Please create the commit messages following the GIT convention:
78 81
 
... ...
@@ -93,7 +96,7 @@ Please start always with the prefix of the component (subsystem) that is modifie
93 96
   * lib_name: critical bug fix for abc case
94 97
   * kamctl: added support for management of module xyz
95 98
 
96
-### Examples Of Commit Messages ###
99
+#### Examples Of Commit Messages ####
97 100
 
98 101
   * change to usrloc module from modules
99 102
 
... ...
@@ -116,7 +119,7 @@ core: loadpath can now use a list of directories
116 119
   be loaded and the search will stop).
117 120
 ```
118 121
 
119
-### See Also ###
122
+#### See Also ####
120 123
 
121 124
   * [Creating Good Commit Messages](http://www.kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/user-manual.html#creating-good-commit-messages)
122 125
   * http://www.tpope.net/node/106
... ...
@@ -125,6 +128,28 @@ The above content about commit message format is taken from Kamailio wiki page:
125 128
   * https://www.kamailio.org/wiki/devel/git-commit-guidelines
126 129
   * it is recommended you read that one as well.
127 130
 
131
+## Reporting Issues ##
132
+
133
+Whenever reporting an issue, along with the description of the problems, try to
134
+include following details:
135
+
136
+  * kamailio version you are using
137
+    * the output of: **kamailio -v**
138
+  * the operating system being used
139
+  * the CPU architecture
140
+
141
+Always useful to have:
142
+
143
+  * whenever there is a crash with a corefile, send the backtrace
144
+    * the output of **bt full** in **gbd**
145
+  * log messages printed by kamailio in syslog file
146
+  * *pcap* or *ngrep* capture of SIP packets causing the issue
147
+  * config file snippets which expose the issues
148
+
149
+Note: replace any sensitive information in the content you add to the issue
150
+(e.g., passwords in modparams can be replaced with xyz, each IP address can be
151
+replaced with tokens like a.b.c.d, f.g.h.j).
152
+
128 153
 ## License ##
129 154
 
130 155
 Kamailio Main License: *GPLv2*.